I start to re-upload all of them plus some new one now in January 2013. Every thing before that date as been deleted by the authority. Enjoy the music and if you like a band just buy it at your music store.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Orange juice /The best of orange juice

LINK:The best of orange juice

01 - falling and laughing

02 - consolation prize

03 - you old eccentric

04 - l.o.v.e. love

05 - felicity

06 - in a nutshell

07 - rip it up

08 - i can't help myself

09 - flesh of my flesh

10 - tenterhook

11 - bridge

12 - the day i went down to texas

13 - punch drunk

14 - a place in my heart

15 - a sad lament

16 - lean period

17 - i guess i am a little to sensitive

18 - scaremonger

19 - the artisans

20 - salmon fishing in new york

21 - what presence_

22 - out for the count

Orange Juice (band)

Orange Juice
Origin Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Genres Post-punk, New Wave, sophisti-pop
Years active 1979–1985, 2008
Labels Postcard, Polydor, Domino
Past members
Edwyn Collins
James Kirk
David McClymont
Steven Daly
Orange Juice was a Scottish post-punk band founded in the middle class Glasgow suburb of Bearsden as
 the Nu-Sonics in 1976. Edwyn Collins formed the Nu-Sonics (named after a cheap brand of guitar) with his 
school-mate Alan Duncan and was subsequently joined by James Kirk and Steven Daly, who left a band
 called The Machetes. The band became Orange Juice in 1979. They are best known for the hit "Rip It 
Up", which reached number 8 on the UK Singles Chart in February 1983, the band's only UK Top 40 hit.


The original Orange Juice line-up was:


The band released their first singles during 1981 on the independent Postcard Records label founded by
 Alan Horne, along with fellow Scottish bands Josef K and Aztec Camera. Shortly afterwards this line-up 
signed to Polydor Records and recorded their first album, You Can't Hide Your Love Forever. However, 
internal tensions led to Kirk and Daly leaving in early 1982 (they would go on to form a short-lived band 
called Memphis), and for the next two album releases the core line-up was: Collins and McClymont with
 Malcolm Ross on guitar, vocals and keyboards, and Zeke Manyika on drums. By early 1984, Ross and 
McClymont had left the band leaving a core line-up of Collins and Manyika who recorded Orange Juice's 
final album, The Orange Juice, with Clare Kenny and Johnny Britten. It was produced by Dennis Bovell.
The band's only Top 40 hit, "Rip It Up" was achieved with the aid of the synthesizer – it was the first hit to use
 the Roland TB-303.[5] While the group has long dispersed, members remain active in their separate and 
diverse fields (including travel writing). At least two greatest hits albums are available. Domino Records have
 recently gained the rights to the group's catalogue and was reissued in 2010.
The final touring line up was: Edwyn Collins (guitar and vocals), Zeke Manyika (drums and vocals), Paul 
Heard (bass) and long time sound engineer Steve Skinner (guitar and vocals). Orange Juice's final gig was at a
Miner's Benefit concert at Brixton Academy in January 1985. It was at this show that Collins announced the 
band was splitting up and performed "Rock and Roll I Gave You the Best Years of my Life".


Studio albums



  • 1980 – "Falling and Laughing" (UK Indie Chart No.48)
  • 1980 – "Blue Boy" (UK Indie Chart No.15)
  • 1980 – "Simply Thrilled Honey" (UK Indie Chart No.5)
  • 1981 – "Poor Old Soul" (UK Indie Chart No.5)
  • 1981 – "Wan Light" (scheduled on Postcard Records but never released)
  • 1981 – "L.O.V.E. Love" (UK No.65)
  • 1982 – "Felicity" (UK No.63)
  • 1982 – "Two Hearts Together" (UK No.60)
  • 1982 – "I Can't Help Myself" (UK No.42)
  • 1983 – "Rip It Up" (UK No.8)
  • 1983 – "Flesh of My Flesh" (UK No.41)
  • 1984 – "Bridge" (UK No.67)
  • 1984 – "What Presence" (UK No.47)
  • 1984 – "Lean Period" (UK No.74)


  • 1984 – In a Nutshell
  • 1992 – The Esteemed – The Very Best of Orange Juice (featuring Edwyn Collins)
  • 1992 – Ostrich Churchyard – the CD release of the previously unreleased debut Orange Juice album
  •  for Postcard Records ('The Sound of Young Scotland'), along with a John Peel Session, and, on the
  •  Japanese issue, a bonus BBC Radio 1 session track, "Wan Light".
  • 1993 – The Heather's on Fire – the other CD release by Orange Juice on Postcard Records, this
  •  collection brings the first four singles together with some more radio sessions and, on the Scottish 
  • version, a NuSonics (pre-Orange Juice) cover of the New York Dolls song "Who Are The Mystery
  •  Girls?".
  • 2005 – The Glasgow School – a compilation of Postcard-era tracks – named "Reissue of the Year" 
  • for 2005 by Britain's Uncut magazine.
  • 2010 – Coals To Newcastle – an almost exhaustive box-set anthology of all Orange Juice's
  •  previously released and unreleased output, released through Domino Records.

No comments: